A strong contingent from the world’s metrology institutes and the first two women are features of a remodeled editorial board of High Temperatures – High Pressures.

Commenting on the changes, HTHP  Co-Editor-in-Chief, Iván Egry says, “We had to expand our editorial board in order to properly reflect the broad scope of the journal. I am glad that so many prominent colleagues have accepted our invitation.”

Jean-François Sacadura, Dr Egry’s fellow Editor-in-Chief, comments, “We have attempted to improve the coverage, both thematic and geographic. We are pleased to see new members from the US, Europe (including the UK), and the national metrology institutes.”

Arno Laesecke
Dr. Arno Laesecke

Two of new members are based in the English-speaking world.

Arno Laesecke, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Boulder, Colorado, USA, focuses on viscosity, including work on alternative refrigerants and fuels, plus standard reference measurements.

The second new member, and the first woman, is Lindsay Chapman, National Physical Laboratory, Teddington, UK, who leads the Thermal Performance Team.

Representation in continental Europe has not been neglected, in which region there are six new members.

Jean-Luc Battaglia, University of Bordeaux, France, is Head of the Thermokinetics and Characterization Research Team.

Jürgen Brillo, Institute of Materials Physics in Space, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Cologne, Germany, studies thermophysical properties of molten metals, and in 2008 received the ECTP-Netzsch Young Scientist Award.

Bruno Hay, National Metrology and Testing Laboratory, Trappes, France specializes in the design of devices for measuring high temperature thermal properties of solids and films, plus reference material certification.

Wolfgang Hohenauer, Austrian Institute of Technology, Vienna, Austria is an expert in the theory and practice of thermokinetics and uncertainty models, using diverse measurement techniques, e.g. dilatometry.

The research targets of Manuel M. Piñeiro, Vigo University, Spain include the theoretical estimation of thermodynamic properties of complex fluids and mixtures using equations of state.

The second woman to join the board is Enrica Ricci, National Research Council, Institute for Energetics and Interphases, Genoa, Italy. Dr Ricci’s interests include surface tension and the wetting behaviour of liquid metals and alloys.

Some HTHP board members have changed roles. Jean-Luc Daridon, Roderick I.L. Guthrie, and Erhard Kaschnitz have become members of the editorial advisory board after serving as regional editors.

Former regional editors Jean-Christophe Batsale and Giovanni Di Nicola have retired from the board. On behalf of the Chief Editors, the publisher thanks them for their efforts and wishes them the best for the future.

These changes follow the award, in August 2013, of an impact factor by Thomson Reuters.

In addition to welcoming all new board members, and wishing them well in helping to develop and expand the publication, the publisher salutes the dedicated work done by the Editors-in-Chief –- it really is a pleasure to work with them.

Martin O’Neill
OCP Europe