HTHP EA HomeIssue Contents

History of the Symposium on Thermophysical Properties
W Haynes, J Sengers, R Jacobsen, D Friend

The Symposium on Thermophysical Properties represents a series of conferences that started in 1959 at Purdue University, which at that time was the home of the Thermophysical Properties Research Center (TPRC) founded by Professor Yeram S Touloukian. The K-7 Standing Committee on Thermophysical Properties of the Heat Transfer Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers retains responsibility for the organization of the Symposium; the National Institute of Standards and Technology provides institutional support and sponsorship of the Symposium. The Symposium has been convened approximately every three years since 1959, with the Fourteenth Symposium held most recently in 2000 at the University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado. The significance of Touloukian’s contributions to the Symposium was recognized by the establishment of the Yeram S Touloukian Award that is presented at the Symposium for outstanding technical contributions in the field of thermophysical properties.

Full Text (IP)