HTHP Home • Issue Contents • Forthcoming Papers

Ninth Asian Thermophysical Properties Conference

This special issue of High Temperature—High-Pressure presents six excellent papers carefully selected from the conference proceedings of the Ninth Asian Thermophysical Properties Conference (ATPC 2010), organized by University of Science and Technology Beijing, China, in 2010. It is a great honor to dedicate these papers to HTHP. We sincerely hope that by means of this well-respected publication some of the most up-to-date research on thermophysical properties will reach a wider audience.

The ATPC is held every three years as one of the three major worldwide conferences on thermophysical properties alongside the European Conference on Thermophysical Properties (ECTP) and the Symposium on Thermophysical Properties (STP). The first ATPC, which was proposed by Professor Bu-Xuan Wang (Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Professor of Tsinghua University, China) and Professor N. Seki (Professor of Hokkaido University, Japan) was held in Beijing in 1986. The first eight Asian Thermophysical Properties Conferences enhanced the international dissemination of recent advances in thermophysical properties research.

The Ninth ATPC provided an opportunity for scientists, researchers and engineers to present new ideas and exchange information on the thermophysical properties of various gases, liquids, solids, mixtures, biological systems, films, functional materials, gradient materials, nano materials, sorption systems and vapor compression systems. It also set out to chart future directions for science and engineering applications in this area.

The symposium featured 241 technical papers, including 12 plenary lectures. Over 200 papers were presented by leading scientists from about 24 countries in their specific fields.

Delegates were also able to enjoy a guided city tour following the conference. The China National Convention Centre (CNCC) where the conference took place is right next to the Bird’s Nest (the Chinese National Stadium for the opening and closing Olympic ceremonies), the Water Cube (the National Aquatics Center) and the National Indoor Stadium. This majestic complex along with other sites of historic interest greatly impressed our delegates and added to the unforgettable charm to this academic gathering.

Our heartfelt appreciation is extended to the members of the International Scientific Committee: B. X. Wang, T. Baba, Z. S. Chen, T. K. Dey, Y. N. Duan, I. Egry, M. Fujii, W. Gao, M. G. He, H. Kim, A. Leipertz, J. S. Lee, T. Makino, Y. Nagasaka, A. Nagashima, D. Saikia, Y. Takata, D. W. Tang, G. Wary, W. A. Wakeham, G. Wang, X. Zhang and Z. M. Zhang. And special gratitude is due to the members of the Local Organizing Committee, B. X. Wang, Z. G. Liu, X. Zhang, Y. H. Feng, P. Qiu, D. W. Tang and G. Wang, for their considerable efforts in respect of specific matters for the conference.

The symposium would not have been successful without strong support from the Co-Sponsors: Xi’an Jiaotong University Thermophysical Properties Division and the Chinese Society for Measurement. I would also like to express our appreciation to the sponsors, the National Natural Science Foundation of China and the Chinese Ministry of Education, and to the joint but uniquely individual contributions made by every author.

I am particularly grateful to Ivan Egry. As editor of HTHP and a member of the Ninth ATPC International Scientific Committee, his assistance in promoting the publication of this special issue has been invaluable.

The Tenth ATPC will be held in Jeju, Korea, in 2013. I fervently hope that we will all then enjoy another great gathering of minds committed to pushing back the frontiers of knowledge in our given field.

Xinxin Zhang
Chairman of the 9th Asian Thermophysical Properties Conference
Guest Editor

full text (IP)