NLOQO Home • Issue Contents

Chantal Andraud and Francois Kajzar

The fourth International Workshop on Nano- and Biophotonics (IWNBP 2017) was held in a beautiful medieval city Vogüé (Ardeche, France), lying in the famous Ardeche river canyon, known particularly for a cavern with the oldest, known human paintings, from 24th-29th September 2017. The workshop was organized jointly with the French-Korean Meeting on Functional Material for Organic Optics Electronics, and Devices and with the “get together” Excilight European Project.

The workshop is a sequel of biannual meetings organized in different locations in France since 2011. The first one, initiating this series of conferences took place in Mont d’Or (Beaujolais, France). The next one was held in 2013 on the Atlantic coast in Biarritz (Basque country), The third workshop, was organized in December 2015 in Cabourg (Channel, Normandy).

The present conference as well as the Proceedings are dedicated to Dr. James G. Grote on his 62nd birthday, associated with the retirement from the United States Air Force Wright Patterson Research Laboratory, Materials and Manufacturing Directorate (RX), Wright Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. Dr. Grote has immense merits in development and application of organic polymers and biopolymers in photonics, opto-electronics and electronics. In particular he started an original work on deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) conceiving a new branch of research he proposed to call biotronics.

We would like to thank the co-Chairs of this conference: Pierre Audebert (ENS-Cachan, France), André-Jean Attias (Université, Paris-VI, CNRS, France), Ileana Rau (University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania), Fabrice Charra (CEA-DSM, Saclay, France) as well as the members of the International Advisory Committee for useful suggestions and help in selection of speakers as well as submitted papers. Particular thanks are due to the local Organizing committee, chaired by Chantal Andraud, for all the hard work, devotion, efforts to get this conference successful.

Conference Chairs
Chantal Andraud, ENS de Lyon, CNRS & Université Claude Bernard Lyon,
Francois Kajzar, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania & ENSCNRS-
UCBL, Lyon, France.
Lyon, September 2018.

Full Text (Open Access)